From Mayor Olen Parker

On April 02 we will have two separate functions related to the 10th Anniversary of the April 02, 2006 Tornado which came through Dyer County and the Newbern Area.

The first will be a Dedication of the Complete Newbern Elementary School Safe Room. This will take place inside the facility at 2:00 pm.

The second will be a candle lighting vigil which will take place at 7:15 pm at the Depot Dock Pavilion.

We ask the public to attend both. We want to request all those that were involved in the rescue operations to also attend. We have asked representatives of the families to return to take place in this remembrance.

The Newbern Library hosted the Newbern Easter Egg Hunt on Saturday March 26th. There were a lot of activities for all ages. There was not cost for the egg hunt, but other activates were available as a fund raiser for the library. The library billed this as the largest Easter Egg Hunt in Dyer County with over 6000 eggs.

The Newbern Downtown Safe Room Final Floor Plan is being developed in conjunction with the Dyer County 911 Board.

The Newbern Elementary School Safe Room is completed and we are planning a dedication on April 02 at 2:00 pm and a candlelight vigil will be held at the Depot Dock at 6:30 pm.

The Canadian National Bloom America Grant is underway, bids for the plants are due on March 23rd and we will begin installation within a few weeks of that date. It should take about 30 days to complete the project if weather is acceptable.  

We are making progress on the Automated Meter Reading System. We will be meeting with the consultant in two weeks and should have bids available by the May board meeting.

Just a reminder, for our customers to take advantage of the online bill payment system and the levelized billing program. You can get information on both at city hall.

We are moving forward with the Downtown enhancement grant. We are now in the bid process and will be approving the bidder in the April Board Meeting.

As most of you know we have obtained a new facility for the library. The architect is developing the floor plan for board review and approval. After that point we will go into the bid process.

We would like to remember those who have passed from our community since our last meeting.

  • Mike Pierce
  • Brenda J. Sawyers
  • Rev. Richard Taylor Carruth
  • Jenny Lee Bradford
  • James Byron "Jim" Criswell, Sr.
  • Carolyn Thompson
  • Reba Tate
  • Walter Slayden Hicks
  • Elvis Lee Fortner
  • Cathy Rose Weaver
  • Betty Barham
  • Ruby Demery
  • Alton L. Townsend
  • Bobby Allen Reeves
  • Helene Nail
  • Lonnie Watson